Southern Peanut Growers Conference
The 16th Annual Southern Peanut Growers Conference will be held July 24-26, 2014 at the Edgewater Beach Resort, Panama City Beach, Fla.The three-day event provides farmers an opportunity to learn more about the industry and issues affecting them while also enjoying a relaxing time at the beach. In addition to the conference sessions, the
event focuses on the family by offering a ladies program and a golf tourna
ment. Information about the conference and sponsorship opportunities is available by contacting one of the coordinating partners listed below.

View Conference Photos
Photos by Georgia Peanut Commission staff
Photos by ZimmComm Media

View Conference Videos
Valor Award presented to Randy Griggs
Southern Peanut Growers Update by Leslie Wagner
Bob Redding on the Farm Bill
Crop Update with Growers and Extension Specialists
T.E. Moye reports on the Georgia Federal-State Inspection Service
Marshall Lamb on Rotation
Armond Morris on the Importance of the Southern Peanut Growers Conference
2014 Peanut Profitability Award Winners

Speaker Presentations

General Session I: Peanut Markets Long-Term
By the Numbers: George Lovatt, Lovatt & Rushing
Domestic First, Then the World: Kris Lutt, Golden Peanut Company
Exports & China: Jeff Johnson, Birdsong Peanut Co.

General Session II: Causing Demand to Catch up with Research
The Private Sector: Mike Guanella, Hormel Foods
The Role of the Grower Dollars: Leslie Wagner, Southern Peanut Growers
The Health Issues: Sherry Coleman Collins, National Peanut Board

General Session III: Production Issues
Weather & Climate: Dr. Richard McNider, University of Alabama at Huntsville
Rotation, Now More Than Ever: Dr. Marshall Lamb, NPRL/ARS/USDA
Moving Genes from the Wild: Dr. David Bertoli, University of Georgia
The Direction of Research: Dr. Joe Touchton, Professor Emeritus Auburn University

General Session IV: Sustaining Farm Policy
Congressional Update: U.S. Rep. Rick Crawford, R-Arkansas - View Video
The New Peanut Program: Bob Redding, The Redding Firm - Video
Crop Insurance Update: Diane Amera, RMA Regional Office
Managing Farm Base in the New Farm Bill: Dr. Stanley Fletcher, National Center for Peanut Competitiveness

Thanks to the 2014 Conference Sponsors
John Deere Company
Ag-Pro Company
Albany Tractor Company
Blanchard Equipment Group
Lasseter Equipment Group
Smith Tractor Company
SunSouth LLC
Bayer CropScience
National Peanut Board
DuPont Crop Protection
Ag Leader Technology
Ag Technologies/Trimble Agriculture
Birdsong Peanuts
Colombo NA
Farm Press
AgGeorgia Farm Credit
AgSouth Farm Credit
Farm Credit of Florida
Farm Credit of Northwest Florida
Kelley Manufacturing Co.
Propane Education & Research Council
Valent U.S.A. Corporation
Southeastern Peanut Farmer
The Peanut Grower
Amadas Industries
Edgewater Beach Resort
First South Farm Credit
National Peanut Buying Points Association
Olam Edible Nuts
AMVAC Chemical
Dow AgroSciences
Alabama Power
Georgia Farm Bureau
Golden Peanut Company
INTX, A Verdesian Life Sciences Co.
McCleskey Mills
Monsanto BioAg
Nichino America, Inc.
Georgia Organic Solutions
Newton Crouch Inc.
Sessions Co. Inc.
The KBH Corporation
WattStopper/Legrand Ag Services


Additional information about future conferences and sponsorship
opportunities are available by contacting:
Alabama Peanut Prod. Association
(334) 792-6482
Florida Peanut Prod. Association
(850) 526-2590
Georgia Peanut Commission
(229) 386-3470
Mississippi Peanut Growers Association
(601) 606-3547

Presented by the Southern Peanut Farmers Federation
- in conjunction with -
Auburn University, University of Florida and
University of Georgia